I am connected

October 8, 2010 § Leave a comment

I received an e-mail in my “In-box” today from beliefnet.com with a subject line of “Tips for Making Meaningful Connections.”

I don’t often pat myself on the back, but when I saw this my reaction was, “Well, that’s one link I don’t need to follow!”

Over and over in the last two years those of you on this list have taught me that you and I have a connection; that you appreciate me, and who I have been in your life.

I want you to know just how mutual that feeling is.

I guess it really is true what they say about absence making the heart grow fonder. I know that I love and appreciate all of you back in the US more than I ever have. Seldom do I end a conversation, or e-mail, without saying “I love you!”

There are even a few United Methodist bishops I am thinking more kindly of these days!

Thanks to Facebook, I’ve even reconnected with some “old” girl friends from young years, (though there never were that many). Mainly I’ve been saying, “I’m sorry!”

And I’ve made some new US friends since arriving in Senegal. Although some were only passing through on short visits, we have “connected” and made a life-long bond. At least I hope so.

It’s so much easier to do with today’s technology.

Just like me being able to sit here and express to all of you “thanks” for loving me and supporting me and Kittie in this ministry.

Almost twenty folks responded to my e-mail last week and said, “I want to help with a child’s school this year.” Some even wrote to friends who are not on my mailing list.

I am grateful and humbled!

And I’m still taking donations! (Mail them to Langdale UMC, PO Box 185, Valley, AL 36854 and mark checks “Senegal Mission – Children”).

I am reminded of a little song I learned early in my life, either in school or Sunday school, I guess:

“Make new friends, and keep the old,
Some are silver, and the others gold.”

Whether you are an old friend who can probably still sink me if you tell too many stories, or a new friend who has only known me in my better days, thank you for being my friend, for loving me, and helping me love myself better.

I did follow the link on BeliefNet and the first page took me to a quote I really liked. It quoted an old African proverb that says, “If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together.”

I haven’t heard that over here, but I sure do like it! I hope you and I are blessed to go together even further in life.

Thank you for being my friends! Even those of you who are also family!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I am connected at .

meta

